Road Trip Survival Series: Taco Bell

If you are taking a road trip in the United States (or parts of Canada), you definitely want to add Taco Bell to your list of vegan-friendly places. Of all the vegan-friendly places in the United States, Taco Bell might have the most locations. It also happens to have a ton of vegan options.

Here are a some of the vegan options at Taco Bell and how to order them:

Bean Burrito Fresco Style (Fresco Style means they remove cheese and sour cream and replace with pico de gallo).

Bean Burrito - Remove Cheese and Sour Cream, Add potatoes, rice, and/or guacamole.

Black Bean Burrito - No cheese. Guacamole, potatoes or pico de gallo could be added.

Chips and Guacamole

Chips and Pico de Gallo

Cinnamon Twists 
Vegetarian Vegan Food at Taco Bell Cinnamon Twists
Cinnamon Twists
Double Decker Taco - No cheese. Sub beans for beef or add potatoes, rice, and/or guacamole.

Fiesta Taco Salad - No cheese or sour cream. Sub beans for beef.

Fresco Crunchy Taco - Sub beans for beef.

Fresco Soft Taco - Sub beans for beef.

Mexican Pizza - No cheese or sour cream, sub beans for beef. Add potatoes, guacamole, and/or pico de gallo.
Mexican Pizza - Sub Beans for Beef, Add Guacamole

Seven Layer Burrito - No sour cream or cheese. Add potatoes and/or pico de gallo.
7 Layer Burrito -No Sour Cream or Cheese, Add Guacamole and Pico de Gallo

Spicy Potato Soft Taco - No cheese; no chipotle sauce. Add guacamole, red sauce, and/or pico de gallo.

Spicy Tostada - No cheese or chipotle sauce. Add guacamole, potatoes, and/or pico de gallo.

Triple Layer Nachos - No cheese sauce. Add pico de gallo, guacamole, and/or potatoes.

As a general rule, the beans, rice, salsas, guacamole, pico de gallo, potatoes, tortillas, and tacos are vegan. You can also make sure with the person taking your order that there is no meat, cheese, or sour cream on the item you are ordering. Some of the sauces and dressings (not salsas or the little sauce packets) contain eggs or milk products. Also, the Doritos Locos Taco shell contains enzymes from cows so you'll want to avoid them. If you are a vegetarian and not vegan, you will still want to stay away from the sour cream as it contains gelatin, which is not vegetarian. If you are ever unsure about a menu item or want to make sure the ingredients haven't changed, you can check the ingredients here.

10 comments:

  1. Thanks for compiling this list! I've heard of the cinnamon twists, but I didn't realize that's what they looked like; so cute, haha! I've only ever gotten the 7-layer burrito; good to know the other options! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The 7 layer burrito is one of the best options, I think. Aren't the cinnamon twists cute!?

      Delete
  2. wow this is awesome! I always ordered the 7 layered burrito with no cheese and no sour cream, but I didn't realize you could sub in things like potatoes and pico de gallo. It has been a few years since I've had to resort to a Taco Bell meal... but next time around, I'm going to dredge up this post and be a much more informed shopper!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I haven't had Taco Bell in so long, but I got that 7 Layer Burrito with the potatoes and pico for this post and it was SO good.

      Delete
  3. My favorite is the crunchwrap supreme: sub beans for beef, no cheese, no sour, add guac, add potatoes. It is the best!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I need to bookmark this for future reference! Also ugh to there being gelatine in the sour cream, I'm vegan now but back when I was veggie I never would have thought to ask about that!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. A lot of places have gelatin in the sour cream. What a bummer!

      Delete
  5. Cinnamon twists, I gotta get me some of those!

    ReplyDelete